Genie Community Forum

About Program Synthesis

Hi Folks:

I am new to Almond. I have written voice apps with Alexa and Google Assistant. I trying to understand the bigger picture about Almond’s approach. I recently glanced through the paper DIY Assistant. I’ve also recently seen Microsoft papers on PROSE - which is about program synthesis … and its use with GPT-3 and FX. The language the papers use and the approach seem similar. Is this the way voice apps in the near future will be built?

I’ll continue to try to get a developer version of Almond running on my local machine. However I am really curious about how I use these technologies (i.e Large Language Models, schemas/ontologies), today, to improve my Dialogflow and Alexa apps?

Cheers,
Andrew

Hi @andrewfr,

You raise some very good questions!

The work in program synthesis is not quite related to a voice assistant (or more generally semantic parsing). The goal of program synthesis is to find a program that satisfies a set of input / output examples. Typical examples are SQL queries by example, or transformations on log files or spreadsheets. In semantic parsing, the goal of the user is instead expressed as natural language.

Nevertheless, large language models definitely play a role in our work - just like pretty much all of NLP these days. Our latest model uses BART, which is a very popular pretrained LM with a sequence to sequence architecture. It’s quite smaller than GPT3, which I think is an advantage: GPT3 is so large it cannot be finetuned for a specific task, on a specific dataset. All you can do is tweak the prompt you provide in the hope that it naturally has the right behavior. I think this is less reliable than finetuning, especially in settings like voice assistants where you really need control of what the agent is doing.