Genie Community Forum

Almond for whatsapp

(originally sent to thingpedia-admins@ by Eduardo Villalpando Mello <A01023646@itesm.mx>)

Hello. I am a student at Tec de Monterrey in Mexico working on a project that I think might be of your interest. First things first, I would like to recognize and congratulate you on the amazing work you’ve pulled together. I head a Hack Club at our school that develops software, and we are planning on integrating Almond on several projects.

So far, I’ve built a distraction-free client with a minimal and friendly UI that I felt would be worth sharing. (Check it out at https://bob-assistant.herokuapp.com)

Right now, we are currently developing a WhatsApp bot that connects directly to Almond. For that purpose, I would love to work collaboratively to get a much deeper understanding on the process, specifically regarding authentication and token generation. As far as I understand, a POST request to /me/api/oauth2/token returns a token valid for a specified amount of time to be used in the WebSocket request.

I would like to propose a way to create permanent tokens and authenticate via phone number, but I undestand the safety implications if not implemented correctly. For that reason, I would love to collaborate with you in order to get a better understanding of the process and brainstorm a solution.

TL;DR

I would like to collaborate to develop a method for signing in with phone number and generate a permanent (or automatically updated) token key to be used in a whatsApp bot interface.

Once more, thank you very much for your hard work. I would be thrilled to contribute as much as posible to the Project.

Greetings,

Eduardo V.

1 Like

Whoa you’ve done a great job, your UI looks very polished and professional, and a Whatsapp bot sounds great!

As for the API, in addition to the temporary access token, it should also return a refresh token.