Genie Community Forum

Deploying Almond with custom UI and Natural Language Support

Hi, my name is Anggrio and I’m a student from the Australian National University. I’m currently working on a project that wants to use Almond as the base for developing a text based virtual assistant that can filter news articles. A few months ago, I’ve posted in the forums here about our team’s progress in implementing it, specifically that we managed to deploy our own web Almond that can access a new news filter skill based on the developer key, but it did not have natural language processing capabilities.
In this semester, my team is looking to try and improve on our previous results by creating our own custom UI / webpages for Almond and implementing the natural language capabilities for our news filter skill. As such, we have some questions regarding how we should proceed with the project:

1. First, if we want to create our own custom UI such that we can implement our own design of the homepage/login page/and so forth for the Almond, how should we connect to Almond?
    Last semester, we used the Web Almond Only installation option for our project. Is there a file that we can tweak in the almond-cloud package to manipulate the UI of the webpages?
    or is it possible to design our own UI/website first and then connect it to Almond using the Web Almond APIs?
    I’m not sure which option is better or more specifically what are the differences between the two methods, most importantly in cases of connecting to a developer key or our own custom natural language model.
  2. Second, I believe that a few months ago the automatic natural language training was dropped for new skills, which led our project to use the thingtalk language to test the news filter. Is this still unavailable for the newest Almond release?