Genie Community Forum

Newbie to Almond and Genie

Hi Folks:

I am new to Almond. I am very interested in the Genie Toolkit and its synthetic data approach. I tend to program in Python and I have experience with Dialogflow and Alexa. I was hoping to use Genie to help me develop new interaction models (agents) for Alexa and Google Assistant (Dialogflow ES). I’m slowly reading the documentation. Since I’m new, I am not sure what the almond-cloud/router/bridges do. I

My question is are there pointers to developing a very simple Almond skill using Genie? I am looking at the tutorials. I am not sure how Genie is fitting into the picture. Are the sample utterances provided by users or is additional utterances being generated by the Genie-Toolkit under the hood?

Cheers,
Andrew

Hello @andrewfr, welcome to the Almond community!

Genie is the core conversational technology behind Almond. Think of Genie as Dialogflow, and Almond as Google Assistant. Users interact with Almond and developers deal with Genie. Genie produces agents that can be integrated in any app or website (it’s a nodejs package you can import).
The almond-cloud package, as you noted, also contains API bridges to expose Almond on Alexa and Google Assistant. Those API bridges might be useful to deploy a custom Genie-based agent as well, but they don’t do that at the moment, and in fact they are a bit buggy at the moment, especially on the Alexa side.

Genie is synthesis based: you give it a few inputs (orders of 3-5 per function/field) and it generates a lot more sentences (easily 500k - 1M when doing dialogues) that it uses to train. The tutorials explain how to prepare the inputs to Genie (aka the Thingpedia skill manifest). Genie is run automatically when you upload a skill to Thingpedia, or you can run it manually on your own machine if you wish to train your own custom semantic parsing model.