Genie Community Forum

Problem with deploying web almond

Hi,

My name is Anggrio and I’m a student from the Australian National University. I’m currently working on a project that wants to use Almond as a base for developing a text based virtual assistant that can filter news. My team has so far followed the documentation that is written here for the web Almond only option but we are stuck on step 3 where we are required to provide some keys. Specifically, we are unsure on how to provide keys for the SECRET_KEY , JWT_SIGNING_KEY and AES_SECRET_KEY variables. We are all very new to Almond, open source, and web deployment, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Hi @Anggrio, welcome to the community.

Those keys should be generated randomly and then kept secret.
AES_SECRET_KEY needs to be exactly 128 bits (16 bytes), formatted as 32 hex characters. SECRET_KEY and JWT_SIGNING_KEY can be anything as long as they are formatted in hex. Choosing a 128 or 256 bit random string is recommended.

On Linux, this is a simple command to generate a strong random key of 32:

dd if=/dev/random of=/dev/stdout bs=32 count=1 | od -t x8 -w

You can then copy the hex digits and remove the spaces.

Hi Giovanni,

I tried running the command you gave and it gave me 4 sets of 16 hex characters like as follows:
4d626d8cfe4a7120 54e68c7d7dcaf6cc 37053ad1642b07e5 25774060484f1c9a
Is it correct that 32 hex characters would be something like 4d626d8cfe4a712054e68c7d7dcaf6cc? As in only needing half of it (I will generate a new one for the actual key) or am I misunderstanding the requirement.

To assign the characters to the key, is it safe to just paste them in the config.js file? From previous web projects I assumed that the standard is using environment variables, but the documentation for Almond mentions that the change is done in the file itself.

Thanks again for your help