Genie Community Forum

What if Natural language utterances conflict?

Hi Almond Authors and Community! My name is Shokhan and I am a ML Researcher. First of all, I really appreciate this project and glad to be involved in! Thanks!
Currently I am testing one skill and I have a technical question:

• What if my natural language utterance conflicts with similar one from another skill? So, when I type my natural language(exactly as is, because I did not train it yet) to test the skill, NLP model recognizes it as the command for another public skill and thus runs not my skill, but the public one. How to overcome this issue? What happens when I train the model?

Hi @shokhan,

Welcome to the community!

Because you have a developer account, you’re using the developer model. This model contains all skills that were submitted to Thingpedia, including those that are not approved yet, and for this model, conflicts are indeed to be expected.

There are three ways to solve the conflict:

• if you type exactly the sentence you trained with, your skill should be preferred to you, because your skill came later and it’s visible to you; note: for get commands, you need to say exactly “get” followed by the phrase you entered in Thingpedia; for when commands, you should say exactly “notify me” followed by the phrase you entered. If this doesn’t work, it’s a bug, and I can take a look if you don’t mind telling me what sentence you’re trying.
  • after training, you can use your skill name as a way to disambiguate, that is, you can say “ask foo to …” where “foo” is the name of your skill; this is similar to how Alexa and Google Assistant work
  • upon review, and before a skill is made public, conflicts are resolved; it is expected that public skills are sufficiently distinct, and when they are not distinguishable, they should use a shared base class

Does this make sense?

1 Like

Hi @gcampax,
Thanks for the immediate reply!