Genie Community Forum

Skill development question: asking questions to friends

Hi,

I’m a Research Software Developer working at the University of Bristol. I’m looking to help an academic here (an anthropology professor) in putting together a student project creating a skill for Thingapedia, about using virtual assistants (Almond) to co-operate on tasks. This isn’t my area, so I’m just looking for enough information to really be able to connect him with other IoT researchers here, and help him put together enough of a plan to move forwards with.

A simple example of the kind of co-operation that he is looking for would be the ability to ask Almond to “Ask my university friends if anyone has the notes for yesterday’s lecture”.

I’d like to just check my understanding of a couple of things first. So, my understanding is that Thingapedia contains Almond’s skills (and this kind of co-operation would be a skill) and these skills are written in JavaScript. Please let me know if I’ve misunderstood!

I’ve seen the skill tutorials and they look really useful, but I’m also wondering if there is any existing skills which are similar or anywhere that I could look in the repos or documentation that show an example of sharing data with friends, or managing existing circles of friends. My intuition is that this could build on top of lots of existing services, so there would be a lot of different ways to do this, so an example of something similar would be really useful I’m sure.

Thanks so much for your help!

1 Like

Hi Natalie,

Thanks for reaching out!

What you suggest sounds quite useful. We did some work on “social” voice assistants in our paper Controlling Fine-Grain Sharing in Natural Language with a Virtual Assistant, which appeared in Ubicomp 2018. We introduced a system that would allow any requests of the assistant to be forwarded to another assistant over a chat platform.